Fall seven, get up eight

IMG_1846

This blog is about my journey. I am a brain tumor survivor/thriver. I am a mom, a teacher, a fitness enthusiast, and artist/photographer, who hopes my experience can help others overcome their obstacles and realize that through their adversity there is hope for their future. I am far from perfect, but am striving to improve myself everyday, inch by inch.

In this blog, I will share my brain tumor experience, as well as my fitness/wellness journey, in an effort to help others with similar struggles. I will use my interest in art and photography to help tell my story. I hope to inspire others to move forward in the life’s journey and purpose and make their obstacles, the way.

I do not have all the answers, but I can share what works and doesn’t work for me, things that have inspired me, and interesting things and people who have presented new ways of thinking and living. When my diagnosis was introduced into my life in 2012 while pregnant with my son, I found very little positive information about the outcome of my diagnosis. Over time, through different networks , like Meningioma Mommas, National Brain Tumor Society, and Project Athena Foundation, I have come to know many strong, powerful men and women who have overcome great obstacles to not only survive, but thrive.

This is something that is very difficult for me to do, because I am a private person who doesn’t want people to pity me or feel sorry for me. However, I think it is IMPORTANT for others struggling with health setbacks that seem insurmountable to know that your obstacle can be overcome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

